Me want cookie!

8 Feb

Sunday was a beautiful sunny day in San Francisco. I spent the morning running the Kaiser Half Marathon and the afternoon watching the Superbowl. I’m happy with the results of both, but I must admit were not easy feats. The marathon race course was pretty flat, so I expected it to be easier than some of the other half marathons I’ve ran, but boy was I wrong! The Great Highway. Yes, the Great Highway did me in. Just miles and miles of the same thing. The beach was beautiful, but it was SO boring. No turns, no trees, nothing. Looking straight ahead I only saw how far I was from the turnaround. That part of the course seemed neverending. Honestly, I was tempted to run off the course and just head home, but I didn’t. I told myself that if I finished the half marathon I would be allowed to consume anything I wanted and as much as I wanted. Cookies!!! I was running for cookies! Chocolate chip cookies. Nothing fancy…all I wanted were some good chewy, freshly baked chocolate chip cookies. So what did I do this morning? Why, I baked chocolate chip cookies of course!

Chocolate Chip Cookies

1/2 cup brown sugar (dark or light. Dark has more molasses than light, which results in a richer and more flavorful taste. Thus, I used dark)

1/4 cup white sugar

2/3 cup canola oil

1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk (or nondairy milk) (I used vanilla soy milk)

1 tbsp tapioca flour (a thickening agent. It can be substituted with arrowroot or cornstarch. Just make sure you have the substituting ratios right. I used 1/2 tbsp of cornstarch)

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup chocolate chips (should really be 1 cup, maybe even 1 1/4 cup. The more chocolate, the better right? I usually purchase Safeway Select chocolate chips, but since chocolate chips are the highlight of this “dessert” I decided to pay an extra two bucks to get my favorite brand of chocolate – Guittard.)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Lightly grease two large baking sheets. I almost never grease and just use parchment paper instead.

2. Combine sugars, oil, milk, and tapioca flour in a mixing bowl. Use a strong fork and mix really well, for about 2 minutes, until the mixture resembles smooth caramel. Like this:

Mix in the vanilla.

3. Add 1 cup of the flour, the baking soda, and the salt. Mix until well incorporated. Mix in the rest of the flour. Fold in the chocolate chips. The dough will be a little stiff so use your hands to really work the chips in.

4. For 3-inch cookies, roll the dough into balls about the size of Ping-Pong balls. Flatten them out in your hands to about 2 1/2 inches. As they cook, the will spread a bit. Place on a baking sheet and bake for about 8 – 9 minutes – until they are browned at the edges. Makes about 16 cookies. Let cool on baking sheet for about five minutes then transfer to wire racks.

5. For two dozen 2 inch cookies roll dough into walnut-size balls and flatten to about 1 1/2 inches and bake for about 6-8 minutes.

And finally, I ended up with my chocolate chip cookies!

By the way, these are vegan cookies adapted from the chocolate chip cookies recipe in Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar Recipe book . The authors also wrote Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World.  The recipes are vegan, but I promise you no one would be able to tell! Also, your lactose-intolerant friends will thank you for the dairy-free treat.

3 Responses to “Me want cookie!”

  1. stew February 8, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    are those pictures of the actual cookies you baked?

  2. Lisa February 9, 2011 at 5:16 am #

    Great pics! Wow – they look so yummy. This blog is dangerous – makes me want to eat sweet stuff haha.

Leave a Reply

