Cupcake – Apron Exchange

7 Mar

I love cupcakes. There, I said it. I’m not afraid to tell the world. Cupcakes are absolutely wonderful – you never have to worry about utensils or about sharing your cupcake. They’re beautifully decorated and come in many different flavors. They’re also fun to make, which was why I was super excited when my friend, Lisa, and I decided to do a cupcake-apron exchange. The deal was that I make a batch of red velvet cupcakes in exchange for an apron made by Lisa – who, by the way, is very talented with sewing and all things crafty.

The very talented Lisa (in her own hand-made apron) with red and green velvet cupcakes

I ended up making two batches of cupcakes – red velvet and blue velvet (which turned out to be green velvet…haha). Why blue velvet? Well, a close friend of mine is pregnant and expecting a baby boy. As a member of her baby shower planning committee, I was going to make some blue velvet cupcakes for the baby shower taking place in May. I figured I better get started with getting the color down now. I actually successfully made blue velvet cupcakes before. It was for Super Bowl XLIV – Colts v. Saints; ugh, perhaps it was a bad omen to have made those blue velvet cupcakes? For the baby shower, I was hoping to get a slightly lighter shade of blue, so I tried adding in a teensy more of the violet food coloring and less of the royal blue. *sigh, it was definitely a mistake! I will continue to play with the color of the cupcakes, and will share once I get the perfect shade of blue down.

Red Velvet Cupcake Recipe from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World

(A special thanks to my friend, Jess O., for introducing me to such a wonderful cupcake recipe book. Oh, and just to clarify, I don’t use the recipes from this book because I’m vegan. I use them cause the cupcakes are absolutely delicious.)

Ingredients

1 cup soy milk

1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar

1 and 1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup granulated sugar

2 tbsp cocoa powder, dutch-processed or regular

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup canola oil

2 tbsp red food coloring

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon almond extract

1 teaspoon chocolate extract

Note: Can exclude chocolate extract and increase to 2 and 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla extract and 1/2 teaspoons of almond extract.

Directions

1. Preheat oven 350F and line muffin pans with cupcake liners.

2. Whisk together the soy milk and vinegar and set aside to curdle.

3. Sift the flour, sugar, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, and salt into a large bowl and mix.

4. Add the oil, food coloring, chocolate extract, and almond extract to the curdled soy milk. Whis well to comvine. Gently fold wet ingredients into dry, mixing until large lumps disappear.

5. Fill cupcake liners about two-thirds of the way full as these cupcakes will rise fairly high. Place in hot oven and bake 18 to 20 minutes until done, but be sure not to overbake. Let cool for a few minutes and transfer to a cooling rack to cool completely. Frost cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting

Ingredients

1/4 cup nonhydrogenated margarine, softened

1/4 cup vegan cream cheese, softened

2 cups confectioners’ sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

Cream together margarine and cream cheese until just combined. Use a handheld mixer to whip while adding the confectioners sugar in 1/2 cup batches. Mix until smooth and creamy, then mix in the vanilla. Keep tightly covered and refrigerated until ready to use.

Me and my new apron (sorry! I know it's hard to make out the details of the apron)


Lisa's half-eaten red velvet and my new apron

Thanks again, Lisa! I absolutely LOVE the apron!

4 Responses to “Cupcake – Apron Exchange”

  1. Lisa March 7, 2011 at 5:21 am #

    That was fun! and DELICIOUS. Thank you!!! I’m so lucky to have a super talented baker for a friend!

    • A hen in the kitchen March 7, 2011 at 7:00 am #

      No…thank you! It was really fun! I’m super excited about our baking day over spring break! Be sure to bring your apron that day. :)

  2. Anna March 7, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    I cant wait for my cupcake! they look scrumptious. and lisa and the apron look so cute! cant wait for our baking party…we should all wear an apron….so then it will be the apron baking party =)

Leave a Reply

