Macaroon or Macaron?

8 Mar

Seriously, just how is it pronounced? Macaroon or Macaron??? No matter how I say it, I am constantly being corrected. I’ve resorted to just pointing at it when ordering one of these delectable cookies at a bakery.  Since tasting macarons for the first time a few years back, I’ve wanted to learn how to make them; but I’ve been intimidated by the long process and the finicky nature of macarons.  I’ve read many recipes and every one seemed difficult for an amateur, like me. So, I decided to take a class at Spun Sugar in Berkeley, which by the way, thanks to Ronald (my brother) and Nikki (his girlfriend and probably the best baker I know) for telling me about this place.

I am honestly beat from working all day and then going to this class, but I am so happy with what I learned that I just have to share.

My macarons are not perfect, but I’m just glad they at least resemble macarons and didn’t turn out to be a complete failure. Oh wait, before I show you how mine turned out, I must show you what Ronald and Nikki brought back from France a few months ago.

Macarons that Ronald and Nikki brought back from Laduree Patisserie in France

Aren’t they beautiful? They were so yummy! In my opinion, they were even better than Paulette’s or Bouchon’s. *sigh…I hope one day I can travel to France and taste these macarons again.

Alright, here are the ones I made tonight: Chocolate with chocolate ganache, pistachio with pistachio buttercream, strawberry with buttercream, apricot with buttercream, and pineapple with buttercream.


I’m just too tired to post the recipe right now. I’ll definitely make more macarons in the near future, so stay tuned to learn the recipe!

5 Responses to “Macaroon or Macaron?”

  1. Lisa March 8, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

    oooo beautiful! Are they gluten free?!

  2. Anna March 14, 2011 at 1:47 am #

    hen how did u find time to make these wonderful things? BTW, I love macaroons!!! Can we make them for baking session number 2?

    lisa, so cute, how did I know that you would ask if they were gluten free? ;)

    and again, hen…your baked goods look amazing and I’m sure they taste as good as they look.

  3. Jackie March 19, 2011 at 9:21 am #

    i love macaroons :9

Leave a Reply

