Chocolate S’mores Cookies

29 Apr

This morning I woke up wanting nothing more than a batch of cookies. I wanted… the smell of freshly baked cookies to waft through the house, a satisfying bite into a moist, chewy cookie, and a big glass of milk to go with it all. Well, one thought led to another, and soon enough I was in the kitchen busy putting a batch of cookies together while still in my jammies.  My day would not have been complete without some of these cookies.

These were really easy to make, as the recipe uses a cake mix (plus a few more ingredients). I usually don’t like box mixes and prefer to make everything from scratch, but decided to give this recipe a try anyway. It came out better than expected…it was delicious! So delicious that it almost caused a horrible accident!

Wait…ok, let me explain. Today, my youngest brother performed in his school’s spring concert. As my family and I were leaving the school parking lot I offered my dad one of these cookies. He took a bite and said “mmmm, these are good,” and might I add, my father is a very difficult person to please :)  So, there we were – driving happily in the car…my dad munching away and me beaming in the passenger seat. We were steadily making our way though the intersection and before I knew it, I found myself warning my dad about the pedestrian that he was driving directly at. It took me five “watch out”s before he slammed on the brakes! The pedestrian of course, frantically ran off while cursing at us. It may have been the deliciousness of these cookies that distracted my dad or the wreckless driving that comes with age. It was probably the latter, but I’m convinced that these cookies are dangerously yummy.

Note to self: Do not give Dad cookies while he’s driving.

Chocolate S’mores Cookies Recipe

adapted from Picky Palate

Ingredients

1 box devil’s food cake mix

2 eggs

1/4 Cup brown sugar

1/2 Cup melted butter (1 stick)

3 Hershey’s Chocolate bars, cut into rectangles

1 1/2 Cups mini marshmallows

1 1/2 Cups graham crackers, cut up into small pieces

Directions

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  In a large bowl mix the cake mix, eggs, brown sugar and butter until combined.  With a medium cookie scoop, scoop dough onto a silpat or parchment lined baking sheet.  Press cookies into little discs to flatten slightly.  On each cookie press a chocolate bar, a couple marshmallows and a couple graham cracker pieces.  Bake for 11-13 minutes or until cooked through.

2.  Remove and let cool on baking sheet for 5 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack.  Serve with milk and enjoy!

Note: Oh yikes! Only towards the end of this post did I realize that I completely forgot the brown sugar! Hmmm….it still turned out great, but I’ll definitely have to try it with the brown sugar next time.


Happy friday, everyone!

Sincerely,

the girl who loves s’mores

Leave a Reply

