Love ♥

23 May

I never believed in love at first sight until I saw you…sexy, stylish, strong…everything I’ve been dreaming of. Yes, I’ve been obsessing over you…flirting with the idea of you, me, and hot summer days. For many weeks now I haven’t been able to get you off of my mind.

I am crazy in love with you, KitchenAid stand mixer!

I rarely admit it, but I am spoiled rotten. A few days ago, I was surprised with a gift – the coveted KitchenAid Artisan Series 5 qt stand mixer!

Now, the KitchenAid stand mixer comes in 27 colors or so. I spent two whole hours choosing the color I wanted. I had to project into the future of what my dream kitchen would look like and choose the color to match it. I read forums on what people thought was the best color, I even googled “beautiful kitchens” just to see if a certain color would fit in. After a lot of hair pulling and nail-biting, I finally decided on….white! It’s bound to match whatever kitchen scheme I have in the future! So, here it is:

And boy, am I happy with my choice :) Isn’t it sexy right next to my black food processor? I’m dreaming about a black and white kitchen with splashes of color.

The first thing I made with this bad boy was cheesecake pops. I ended up wrapping the cheesecake pops with a small sheet of cellophane, tying it with a twisty thingy, and giving them out as favors for my friend’s baby shower.

Cheesecake Pop Recipe

Adapted from Bakerella

Ingredients

Cheesecake (I used this recipe)

Wax Paper

Lollipop Sticks

Candy Melts

Graham Cracker Crumbs

Mini Ice Cream Scoop

Directions

1. Use a small ice cream scoop to scoop out balls of the cheesecake.Then roll them in the graham cracker crumbs to help shape them.

2. Chill the cheesecake balls in the fridge for 20-30 minutes.

3. Melt the candy melts (can be found in a variety of colors at Michael’s) in the microwave at 50% power for about 2 minutes.

4. Dip the cheesecake balls in the candy melt. Tap off excess candy melt and roll onto wax paper.

5. Dip one end of the lollipop stick in the melt and insert into the dipped cheesecake ball (I melted blue candy melt and drizzled it over the cheesecake balls before inserting the lollipop stick).


All in all, it was a messy, but fun kitchen project. Thanks for helping me out, A!

3 Responses to “Love ♥”

  1. Le May 23, 2011 at 5:14 am #

    It was beautiful, it was yummy, and it was just PERFECT!!! Thanks for making them, Hen!!

    • A hen in the kitchen May 23, 2011 at 6:31 am #

      No problem, Le! It was fun making them! Thanks for letting me be a part of your baby shower planning committee ;)

  2. EdH May 23, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    Just as Heaven must have Angels… To truly enjoy the joys of good kitchen cooking & baking; one MUST have a KitchenAid stand mixer!

    Our KitchenAid is forever affixed to our counter!

Leave a Reply

