Chewy Brownies

14 Sep

Wait. What?! It’s mid September already?! Oh geez, time flies with a full time job! As I’ve mentioned in a previous post, I’ve started a new nursing position at one of the community clinics in San Francisco. I absolutely love the new job, but my summer plans of marathon training, baking like a mad woman, and lounging around as a couch potato, had to be put on hold.  And now that school is starting, I don’t think I’ll ever be able to reach my dreams of being a couch potato.

Okay, so I know I’ve been seriously behind with this blog. You see, these chewy brownies were made three weeks ago. They were gobbled up the very following day, and all I have left to remember them by are these pictures. I’m tempted to go and whip up another batch right now!

Personally, I’m a bit intimidated by brownies. Everyone has their idea of the perfect brownie. Some like it fudgey, some like it cakey.  Some people like their brownies with nuts, and some absolutely detest them. I knew that it’d be hard to please everyone, so I decided to just make my idea of the perfect brownies. I chose the America’s Test Kitchen recipe, because I wanted to make brownies that taste similar to the box mix kind. Like the box mix brownies, these brownies have a crackly top and a chewy base. Oh, and to make it even better, there are chunks of dark chocolate mixed in, and a hint of coffee in the base to highlight the chocolate taste.

Chewy Brownies Recipe

adapted from The Best of America’s Test Kitchen

yields 2 dozen 2-inch brownies

Ingredients

  • 1 ounce Dutch-processed cocoa powder
  • 1.5 teaspoons instant espresso
  • 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons boiling water
  • 2 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped fine
  • 4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) melted, unsalted butter
  • 2 large egg yolks
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2.5 cups sugar
  • 1 and 3/4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 6 ounces bittersweet chocolate, cut into 1/2 inch pieces

Directions

1. Adjust oven rack to lowest position, and heat oven to 350 degrees. Line a 13 x 9 inch baking dish with foil and coat with vegetable spray.

2. Whisk cocoa powder and boiling water together in a large bowl until smooth. Add unsweetened chocolate and whisk until the chocolate is melted. Whisk in the melted butter and oil. Add eggs, yolks, and vanilla and keep on whisking. Add sugar, and whisk until fully incorporated. Add flour and salt and mix with a rubber spatula until combined. Fold in the bittersweet chocolate pieces.

3. Scrape the batter into the baking dish and bake until a toothpick inserted halfway between the edge and center comes with just a few moist crumbs attached, 30-35 minutes. Transfer pan to a wire rack and cool for 1.5 hours.

4. Remove the brownie from the baking dish and let it cool for another hour. Cut into 2 inch squares and serve. Brownies can be stored in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 4 days (I doubt they’d stick around for that long though.)

2 Responses to “Chewy Brownies”

  1. Lisa September 14, 2011 at 11:24 pm #

    my heart is racing . . . . these look delicious.

  2. ScreamingSardine (@ScreaminSardine) October 16, 2011 at 2:00 am #

    Oh my, these look absolutely sinful…which is a very good thing when it comes to chocolate!

    Thanks for sharing the recipe. :)

    Cheers,
    Tracy Screaming Sardine

Leave a Reply

