“Healthy” Choco Chip Banana Bread

2 Nov

For the past two weeks or so, I’ve been preparing an hour-long powerpoint lecture on chronic headaches. And you know what I learned, aside from diagnosis and management of chronic headaches? I am absolutely terrible at self care! Nurses are great at taking care of other people, but sometimes they are just not so great at taking care of themselves – I’ve been sleep deprived…I haven’t been cooking…no exercise (other than my weekend football games of course). So, the instant I was done with my presentation today I came home and I decided to do something that makes me happy. I made banana bread!

I made “healthy” chocolate chip banana bread. Yes, it’s healthy. At least that’s what I’m telling myself. It’s one of my favorite baked goods, particularly in the Fall even though bananas can be found year round. This recipe I used is from the America’s Test Kitchen Best Light Recipes, which is why I’m saying it’s “healthy”. Now, chocolate chips are not in the original recipe, but really, what quick bread recipe wouldn’t benefit from some chocolate chips??

Banana Bread Recipe

Adapted from The Best Light Recipe

Yields one 9-inch loaf; serves 10 (or just one really stressed nurse)

Ingredients

1and 1/2 cups unbleached all purpose flour

1/2 cup cake flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup sugar

3 very ripe, large bananas, mashed well

1/4 cup plain low-fat yogurt

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

3 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened

2 large eggs

Directions

1. Adjust oven rack to the middle position and heat oven to 350 degrees. Spray the bottom and sides of a 9x5inch loaf pan with nonstick baking spray. Mix the all-purpose flour, cake flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and 1/4 cup of the sugar together in a medium bowl; set aside. In a separate bowl, mix the mashed bananas, yogurt, and vanilla together; also set aside.

2. Beat the remaining sugar and butter together with an electric mixer on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, scraping down the sides of the bowl with a rubber spatula as needed. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.

3. Reduce the mixer speed to low. Beat in half of the flour mixture until incorporated, followed by one-third of the banana mixture, scraping down the bowl as needed. Add half of the remaining flour, followed by another one-third of the banana mixture. Repeat this process once more. Be careful and don’t overmix the mixture! It should look thick and chunky. *Fold in chocolate chips if you are awesome like that*

4. Scrape the batter into the loaf pan. Bake until golden brown and a toothpick/fork inserted in the center comes out clean with just a few crumbs attached, about 55 minutes. Cool the bread in the pan for ten minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool some more.

Note: can be stored at room temperature for up to three days. Just wrap tightly with some plastic wrap!

Bake today, run tomorrow, and a yummy lunch planned for Friday. I think I’ll be a much more relaxed me by the time the weekend rolls around. Hope everyone else is making time for themselves to de-stress and relax!!

3 Responses to ““Healthy” Choco Chip Banana Bread”

  1. Lisa November 4, 2011 at 2:20 am #

    Yum, the consistency of the bread looks great! So fluffy!

  2. Wilson. December 27, 2011 at 6:55 am #

    Hello!

    I just wanted to say, your blog looks great! I cant really say anything bad about your photos. You’ve got the creativity down, which is very important. You seem to have a good understanding of lighting and composition as well.

    For some feedback, I’d suggest watching out of distracting backgrounds (though your already very good with your backgrounds just some things here and there), and making sure your photos are sharp right after you take them. Natural light works great for food, however, you may want to invest in a reflector to bounce some light to fill in some shadows. Or use tin foil pasted on cardboard, haha.

    Lastly, if you get a dslr, get what ever dslr’s most of your friends use, in terms of brand, that way you can share lenses. If I shot exclusively food, I’d use a 40mm 2.8. Perfect for close ups, and blurring out the background nicely, but still wide enough to tell a story.

    I dont know any photo resources beyond what you can google yourself. My advice to you is probably something your already doing. Look at more food photos, variety is good, and of course, take more photos. You’ll be pro in no time!

    If you ever want any photo feedback, or some html/graphic design stuff(I can ask my friends that, but it’d have to be paid work), just e-mail me.

    You should be proud of your blog, it looks great! Life is a work in progress, and as long as things are always getting better, thats what matters!

    It was great meeting you.

    • Hen @ Mostly Sweets December 27, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

      Hi Wilson,

      Thank you for your feedback! I really appreciate it. I’m constantly looking to improve my blog in any way. Oh, and great tip about the dslr. It was great meeting you yesterday. Good luck in your career!

      -Henrietta

      PS- your blog looks great! I love all the portraits; so creative and fun.

Leave a Reply

